

CONTACT Scott Johnson Executive Secretary Iowa FFA Association scott.johnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376 www.iowaffa.com

News Release

Montezuma FFA Wins Iowa FFA Farm Management CDE

The Montezuma FFA Chapter from Montezuma was named the Champion Team in the annual Iowa FFA Farm Management Career Development Event held at Iowa State University in Ames on April 19, 2016. Members of the first place team included: Tyler Meyer, Shane Helm, Hunter Foubert, and Grant Johnson. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Rick Swenson and Ms. Lindsey Schanbacher. They will represent Iowa at the National Farm Management Career Development Event in Indianapolis, Indiana, in October. The Osage FFA Chapter from Osage was named the Reserve Champion Team. Members of the second place team included: Joe Malecek, Matthew Klaes, Adam Koch, and Jared Popp. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Richard Schaufler. Tyler Meyer, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma, was named the High Individual Overall in the competition. The Montezuma FFA Chapter from Montezuma was the winner of the Team Participation Activity.

FFA teams from 85 chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event designed to provide the student an opportunity to display their agricultural knowledge and skills in the area of Farm Management. The 318 individuals who participated in the event each completed an objective test which had three sections: economic principles, records and analysis, and risk management. All team members worked together to solve a problem related to break even analysis.

The Iowa FFA Farm Business Management Career Development Event was made possible with support from the Iowa Farm Business Association through the Iowa FFA Foundation. Dr. Ron Deiter, Professor of Economics at Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, was the Career Development Event coordinator and prepared the test with assistance from Dr. Georgeane Artz, Assistant Professor of Economics.

Top 10 Teams

- 1 Montezuma FFA, Montezuma
- 2 Osage FFA, Osage
- 3 Guthrie Center Tiger FFA, Guthrie Center
- 4 Decorah FFA, Decorah
- 5 St. Ansgar FFA, St. Ansgar
- 6 Manson-Northwest Webster FFA, Manson
- 7 Northeast FFA, Goose Lake
- 8 Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon
- 9 Emmetsburg FFA, Emmetsburg
- 10 Southeast Polk FFA, Pleasant Hill

Top 10 Individuals

Tyler Meyer, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Grant Johnson, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Matthew Klaes, Osage FFA, Osage Hunter Foubert, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Caleb Finnegan, Guthrie Center Tiger FFA, Guthrie Center Shane Helm, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Garret Hemesath, Decorah FFA, Decorah Jacob Holck, LeMars FFA Chapter, LeMars Joe Malecek, Osage FFA, Osage Levi Eden, Algona FFA, Algona Below is a list of chapters participating by medal group.

Gold Teams (29) Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Osage FFA, Osage Guthrie Center Tiger FFA, Guthrie Center Decorah FFA, Decorah St. Ansgar FFA, St. Ansgar Manson-Northwest Webster FFA, Manson Northeast FFA, Goose Lake Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon Emmetsburg FFA, Emmetsburg Southeast Polk FFA, Pleasant Hill Harlan FFA, Harlan West Liberty FFA, West Liberty Audubon FFA, Audubon LeMars FFA Chapter, LeMars Gilbert FFA, Gilbert Starmont FFA, Arlington Rock Valley FFA, Rock Valley Nashua Plainfield FFA, Nashua Algona FFA, Algona Riceville FFA, Riceville West Lyon FFA, Inwood Oelwein FFA, Oelwein Carroll Area FFA, Carroll Cascade FFA, Cascade Roland-Story FFA, Story City Grundy Center FFA, Grundy Center Davis-Rodgers FFA, Shenandoah Tri-Center FFA, Neola Holland FFA, Orange City

Bronze Teams (23)

South Central Calhoun FFA, Lake City Woodward-Granger FFA, Woodward Earlham FFA, Earlham South O'Brien FFA @ Paullina Albia FFA Chapter, Albia North Mahaska FFA, New Sharon Sheldon FFA, Sheldon Western Christian, Hull Winterset FFA, Winterset Mediapolis FFA, Mediapolis North Union FFA, Armstrong Marengo FFA, Marengo Postville FFA, Postville Wapsie Valley FFA, Fairbank Silver Teams (33)

Rockford FFA, Rockford Central Lee FFA, Donnellson Vinton-Shellsburg FFA, Vinton Hudson FFA, Hudson Bison FFA, Buffalo Center Newton FFA, Newton Lynnville-Sully FFA, Sully Monticello FFA, Monticello Maquoketa Valley FFA @ Delhi Iowa Falls-Alden FFA, Iowa Falls Coon Rapids-Bayard FFA, Coon Rapids Clay Central/Everly FFA, Everly Tri-County FFA, Thornburg MVAO FFA Chapter, Mapleton Edgewood-Colesburg FFA, Edgewood North Fayette Valley FFA, West Union Clarion-Goldfield-Dows FFA, Clarion East Sac FFA, Lake View Midland FFA, Wyoming West Fork FFA Interstate 35 FFA, Truro Adel DeSoto Minburn New Hampton FFA, New Hampton Hawkeye FFA, West Bend Waverly-Shell Rock FFA, Waverly Brokaw FFA, Clarinda Westwood FFA, Sloan Mount Ayr FFA, Mount Ayr Murray FFA, Murray Creston FFA, Creston Pilot Creek FFA, Pocahontas Dallas Center-Grimes FFA, Grimes Atlantic FFA, Atlantic

Adair-Casey FFA, Adair Alburnett FFA, Alburnett Panorama FFA, Panora Collins-Maxwell FFA, Maxwell Griswold FFA, Griswold Williamsburg FFA, Williamsburg Unity Christian FFA Forest City FFA, Forest City Diamond Trail FFA, Monroe

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 14,800 student members as part of 226 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.